RSS Feed

Season of Giving

Welcome to my blog. I hope upon reading you are all in good health. What better way to launch a blog than a blog about the holidays. So sit back and enjoy my ramblings. I plan to share with you various aspects of my life. I consider myself to be a dabbler in crafty things. The most enjoyable things for me are things I can do with my hands. A few things I enjoy doing with my hands are baking, cake decorating, crocheting, sewing, drawing and photography. So here goes, hope you enjoy. =D

I can remember being probably 8 or 9 years old when that huge Toys “R” Us catalog would arrive. I remember flipping through the colorful pages upon pages of wishes, wants, desires. From My Little Pony playsets to 100+ count crayon sets, to a real pony (what little girl hasn’t wanted one of those?).

Looking back on that memory, I realize how petty all the “stuff” really was, I didn’t know it back then, what kid does? The importance of things has greatly shifted over the years. As an adult, sure, I’d love ot have the latest gadget, gizmo, or even retail bakery space complete with the most shiny, glistening stainless steel appliances and countertops… drool… ahem, where was I? Right… it’s all stuff. I still have wishes, wants, desires… they’re evolving. I want my kids to have a good life, be healthy and happy as much as possible and more importantly for them to know they are loved.

I try hard, with many bumps along the way, who doesn’t have those? I try to be a better person for them in the hopes I’m not a parent who has to say, “Do as I say, not as I do.” I want to be a role model for them and love them with all my heart and soul. So far, my heart and soul is theirs.

On to why I’ve started this particular post… I have never in my life imagined how good it would feel to give until I participated in a 35 mile/2 day walk to fight breast cancer. My grandmother lost her battle with breast cancer when I was 3, my mother-in-law has won her battle. I walked the furthest I’ve ever walked in my life in the shortest amount of time. A small “price to pay” considering the battles that have been fought and won or lost. The money raised when to research in finding a cure, to the people going through treatments, to childcare while a parent might be in treatments, wigs, prosthetics, lots of really really good things. It felt great, no matter the throbbing feet and sweaty brow experienced but the large swarm of people participating.

That, for those of you who have gotten this far, and I thank you if you’re still reading, is what is gradually propelling me to give. Give more. It feels good to help. This time of year shouldn’t be the only time to give. Most recently I made a choice to donate my hair to Locks of Love. My hair was admittedly out of control. It was too long and I needed a change. I had 11″ of hair bundled up and sent off. I hope they get as much use out of my hair as they can. I took my 4 year old daughter with me the day I got my hair cut. She asked me if it hurt to get my hair cut… I told her, “Sweety, quite the opposite.”

Before

After

So, with that I say, think about others this holiday season, and really, think about others all year. Sometimes all anyone really needs is an ear to talk to or arms for a hug. It doesn’t have to cost money or be a grand gesture, a simple thing like a smile could be all it takes to turn a life around. Not to get all preachy, but love each other more. It’s so much easier to love.

P.S.-Please bear with me as I explore blogging. It’ll be rough around the edges at first, but I’ll get there and am certain you’ll all enjoy it.

About chitterchattercrafter

I'm a mommy, a baker, a cake decorator. Visit my cake-folio site at www.jennifercastro.com. I like to unwind by either crocheting or reading. I have two awesome kids and a wonderful husband. My current job has me being a graphic designer and photographer for a beauty catalog. Life is a journey, so I don't know where I see myself in 5 years.

Show me some love.

