RSS Feed

Mets, Giants and Poker… Oh MY!!!

Hi all!

Hope everyone has been having a wonderful holiday season thusfar. So far, we’re hanging in there. We haven’t had a lot of shopping excursions happen yet, but we know most of what we’re getting for family, and that’s a good start. Most of our recipients are being blessed with homemade cookies. I love making and decorating them and I know they love eating them.

Which brings us to this post. Not that it is cookie related but it is baking related. As you may have read in a previous post, or is it in my profile? I bake and decorate cakes for family and friends and have fun doing it. I enjoy it so much, especially when I bake for people who really appreciate my art and love my delicious cakes. Their words, not mine. They’re good, but there’s only so much cake anyone can eat before, well… you know… I can’t even imagine hating cake, so in small doses, for me, I’m good.

My latest creation happened to be for a groom for his and his future bride’s engagement party which happened over the weekend. I had the pleasure of making his cake. It was a chocolate cake with chocolate ganache and all covered in fondant. I pronounce that last gem as FOND-ANT not Fohnd-daunt, in case anyone wanted to know. Tomato, to-mah-toe, whatever right? Food is food! Let’s eat!!!

So here’s the cake before adding any elements to it.

The groom is a fan of the NY Mets, NY Giants and loves poker. So here we have the poker table. I used green vanilla flavored fondant, for the green parts, and Dark Chocolate for the darker parts. Obviously right? Smells delicious! Yes, people do eat it. I happen to be fond of the chocolate fondant. It tastes like a tootsie roll. YUM!

Here is the cake with the decorations added.

Decorations were made of a 50/50 fondant and gumpaste mix. Poker chips were easy enough to make, but those team logos were hand cut. Tedious? Yep. Worth the effort to make? Oh heck yeah! My favorite part of this cake are the playing cards. I made a little “Mets” player as the King of Clubs (get it?), and the “Giants” player the King of Spades.

Hope you enjoyed my third installment. This weekend promises to bring lots of cookie baking and prep work for Christmas Goody Presents. Can’t wait to get started. I’ve hopefully got at least one helper in the kitchen, just about the size of a Keebler elf. That would be Miss Lily.

Be safe everyone, until next time. =D

About chitterchattercrafter

I'm a mommy, a baker, a cake decorator. Visit my cake-folio site at www.jennifercastro.com. I like to unwind by either crocheting or reading. I have two awesome kids and a wonderful husband. My current job has me being a graphic designer and photographer for a beauty catalog. Life is a journey, so I don't know where I see myself in 5 years.

One response »

  1. Sweet table.

    #elimanning2minutedrill

    Nice post! 🙂

    Reply

Show me some love.

